00 News & Updates

Union Street Players Awarded “Best of Red Rock Area”

Union Street Players, Pella’s award-winning community theatre, is honored to have once again been voted the best performing group in the Red Rock Area by the Marion County Development Commission‘s annual “Best of Red Rock Area” initiative. In addition, attending a Union Street Players performance was voted one of the Top 10 Activities  in Marion County.

Union Street Players Board President, Cyndi Atkins, was present to accept the awards on behalf of USP. A full list of the “Best of the Red Rock Area” can be found here. Thanks to all of our community members who voted and continue to make USP Pella’s award-winning community theatre!

00 News & Updates, 2014 Christmas Carol, 2014 Ham Buns and Potato Salad, 2015 Anne of Green Gables

USP has 10 Finalists up for Six 2015 ICTA Awards!

2015 USP ICTA Finalists

Union Street Players is proud to announce those who have been announced as finalists in the 2015 Iowa Community Theater Association’s awards for Outstanding Achievement. Awards will be presented at the annual Iowa Community Theater Festival which will be held this year in Waterloo on the weekend of April 11.

USP Finalists:

From Ham Buns and Potato Salad (April 2014)

Cyndi Atkins as Lola Van Dam – Supporting Actress
Mat Kelly and Anne McCullough Kelly – Scenic Design
Arvin Van Zante – Lighting Design

From A Christmas Carol (December 2014)

Lonnie Appleby as Ebenezer Scrooge – Lead Actor
Jana De Zwarte (Mrs Dilber), Denise Gregory (Charwoman), Jim Palmer (Old Joe), Spencer Ver Meer Vermeer (Undertaker) – Ensemble

From Anne of Green Gables (Feb/Mar 2015)

Pati Van Zante – Costumes

Union Street Players congratulates all of our finalists!

00 News & Updates, 2012 Joseph...Dreamcoat

Pat Van Zante Brings Home ICTA Award for USP

Pat Van Zante won the ICTA award for Costuming for USP's "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat."
Pat Van Zante won the ICTA award for Costuming for USP’s “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.”

Union Street Players, Pella’s award-winning community theatre, is proud to announce that Pat Van Zante won the Iowa Community Theater Association’s (ICTA) award for costuming for her outstanding costuming work in USP’s production of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. Van Zante is a veteran of Pella’s community theatre. She directed USP’s first musical (Music Man in 1997) and has been credited in many different production roles over the years. She costumed two of USP’s three shows last year (Night of January 16th and Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat). The award was presented this past Saturday night at ICTA’s annual festival in Newton.

Congratulations to Pat who surely deserved the award for her incredible costumes! She is representative the incredible work of every USP cast and crew member in one of USP’s most successful productions!

00 News & Updates, 2012 Joseph...Dreamcoat

USP’s “Joseph” Earns Five ICTA Nominations

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Union Street Players, Pella’s award-winning community theatre, is proud to announce that the December 2012 production of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat has been nominated for five awards from the Iowa Association of Community Theatres (IACT). Each year IACT awards shows from around the state for outstanding achievement during their annual festival. This year, the festival is scheduled for April 4-6 in Newton. Awards will be presented on Saturday night of the festival.

2013 IACT Festival Information (click link to download IACT Festival information)

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat was USP’s holiday musical and completed the community theatre’s 25th Anniversary season. Not only was the show popular with audiences, virtually selling out three of the six performances, but it also become the highest grossing show in USP history.

Nominated for ICTA awards this year:

  • Director: Pat Moriarity
  • Costumes: Pati Van Zante
  • Choreography: Brystal Hopkins
  • Ensemble: The Joseph Brothers (Karl Deakyne, Doug DeWolf, Dayrel Gates, Gifford Graham, Gary Kopsa, Greg May, Larry Peterson, James Punke, Mark Schaefer, Drew Senn, Mike Wignall)
  • Supporting Male Actor: Tom Vander Well (Pharaoh)

Congratulations to the nominees and to the entire production team, cast and crew who made Joseph a huge success. Everyone at USP recognizes that a successful production is an ensemble effort of every person involved. The nominations are a recognition of the hard work, dedication and outstanding efforts of every person involved in the show!