04 The USP Walk of Fame

Shelley Buhrow Inducted to USP Walk of Fame

Shelley Buhrow LR In 2008, Union Street Players instituted a Walk of Fame to honor individuals who have been instrumental in making the popular community theater a successful part of Pella's cultural heritage. The USP Board of Directors recently announced Shelley Buhrow as this year's inductee. This next Saturday, USP will hold their third annual Awards Dinner at Monarch's on the Molengracht to honor Buhrow for her contributions to the group over the past 23 years.

Shelley Buhrow has been a constant presence in Union Street Players from the earliest years. USP archives first credit Buhrow as having worked in the Green Room (where actors prepare to go on stage) in 1989's "Polky Dot and the Christmas Wish." Since that time, Buhrow as contributed to Pella's award winning community theater as writer ("Mom's Christmas Memories"), Director ("South Pacific," "Christmas in Tree Town"), Producer ("Sound of Music," "Music Man"), Actor ("Morning's at Seven," "Our Town") as well as serving as President of USP's Board of Directors in 1993-1994. Her long list of credits made her a logical choice for the USP Board of Directors who chose Buhrow from multiple nominations they received.

"Shelley has contributed to the success of Union Street Players in numerous ways," said current USP President, Tom Vander Well. "She exemplifies the type of person USP wants to honor in the Walk of Fame and we're excited to celebrate her many contributions to our group."

Union Street Players Walk of Fame inductees are nominated by USP members or members of the public. The Board of Directors then choose each year's inductee(s). Criteria for nominees include ten years of participation, participation in multiple roles, and contributing to USP's on-going mission. Buhrow will be the sixth inductee to the Walk of Fame. Previous inductees are: Bev Graves (2009), Dottie McGee (2008), Pat Moriarity (2008), Peggy Moriarity (2009), and Arvin Van Zante (2008).

Shelley Buhrow will be honored at Union Street Players' third annual Award Dinner. The dinner will be held at Monarch's on the Molengracht on Saturday, August 28th at 6:00 p.m. Tickets are $25.00 per person, payable at the door, which includes dinner and the program. The public is welcome, though reservations are required by contacting Cyndi Atkins at 641-757-9785 or atkinsc@central.edu.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s